Dolegna and its six villages, the seven stars that shine on the summit of the province of Gorizia, enclose a patch of just 13 square kilometers a treasure trove of history, beauty and atmosphere.
The bushes and verdant vineyards that stretch on the sides of the Collio wavy white pearls are punctuated by medieval houses, towers and remains of fortifications that refer to the glories of the Patriarchate and reminiscent of the old families of Margrave local, such as the castles and Ruttars Trussio, the latter mentioned for the first time in 1257. In the same village you can visit the last mill still operating in the province of Gorizia, dating back to 1200. Restocina the hamlet of, however, is famous for its typical houses stone cradling the view with their disposal a broad arc, a panorama imitative of the gentle slopes of the Collio. In the village of Lonzano, picturesque and famous are the pretty little church of St. James, of the sixteenth century, the Church of the Blessed Virgin of the Rosary, which dates back to 1594, and the house Frisacco, former home of the family Zorutti, where at the turn of the eighteenth century was born and the well-known poet spent his childhood Pietro. More austere to the long staircase that facilitates access is the Gothic church of St. Helena in Mernico, which began in the fifteenth century. In this part of the city, the bridge marks the territorial limits of Schioppettino, and the rolling hills of vines give way to steeper hills, from woody vegetation. To complete the path votive Scriò church, dedicated to Saint Leonard of Noblac, the patron saint of mothers and prisoners, the Church of St. Helena in Vencò (1891 ), the Church of St. Joseph in Dolegna and the Church of St. Vitus and Modesto to Ruttars, dating back to 1866 and built in the same place where there was a sixteenth-century church.